Press "Enter" to skip to content

Election of 4 Judges of the ICJ

The voting for the new members of the ICJ took place on 10 November, at the UN headquarters in New York. Candidates need to obtain an absolute majority both at the General Assembly and at the Security Council (ICJ Statute, Article 10).

Judges Hisashi Owada (Japan), Peter Tomka (Slovakia) and Xue Hanqin (China) were re-elected as Members of the Court. Mr. Giorgio Gaja (Italy) was elected as a new Member of the Court.  They are elected for a term of office of nine years, beginning on 6 February 2012.

The election of the fifth member of the Court could not be concluded, since no candidate obtained a majority in both the General Assembly and the Security Council. Julia Sebutinde of Uganda obtained a majority in the Assembly, while Abdul G. Koroma (Sierra Leone, currently member of the Court) obtained a majority in the Council. That election has been postponed to a later date, yet to be fixed. For more information see here, here and here.

One Comment

Leave a Reply